The members of each region, the Counsellors, and the respective Vice-President comprise the Regional Assembly, which is IOHE's highest governing body. It holds an ordinary meeting at least once a year and an extraordinary meeting upon petition by a third of its members, as requested by the President or by the IOHE Board of Directors.

The Regional Council, which is the highest management body of the Regional Assembly, is comprised of the Vice-President and the Counsellors from the region. They are responsible for creating an Annual Development Plan for their region, as well as an Annual Regional Budget and any/all subsequent regional activities for the benefit of regional IOHE members.

The Regional Council's main functions are to support the best interests of their region within the context of IOHE by approving the Regional Annual Development Plan, electing the Vice President, the Deputy Vice President, and Regional Counselors, as well as to formulate proposals for regional initiatives that support the aims of the organization. They must ensure that at least 3 Counsellors are elected per region with one Counsellor per country in regions that contain more than one country.



Costa Rica

Regional Vice-President:

Marcelo Prieto Jiménez[email protected]

President, Universidad Técnica Nacional

Executive Regional Secretary:

Katalina Perera[email protected]

Universidad Técnina Nacional


Honduras *

Substitute Vice-Presidency:

Hermes Alduvin Diaz Luna[email protected]

President, Universidad Pedagógica Nacional F. Morazán


  • El Salvador

Pe. Andreu Oliva de la Esperanza, [email protected]

President, Universidad Centroamericana

  • Guatemala
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama


* The IOHE has only one member in these countries.


Regional Vice-President :
Dr. Benedito Guimarães Aguiar Neto[email protected]
President, Universidade Presbiteriana Mackenzie 

Executive Regional Secretary:
Maria Campos Lage, [email protected] 

  • Substitute Vice-President:

    Dr. Marcelo Knobel[email protected]
    President, Universidade Estadual de Campinas


  • Dr. Gunther Lother Pertschy, [email protected]
    President, Centro Universitário de Brusque  
  • Waldemiro Gremski, [email protected]
    President, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Paraná  
  • Anísio Brasileiro de Freitas Dourado, [email protected]
    President, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco   
  • Miriam Thereza de Moura Serra, [email protected]
    President, Universidade Federal de Mato Grosso  


Regional Vice-President:
Jacques Frémont[email protected] 

Université d'Ottawa

Executive Regional Secretary:

Michel Laurier[email protected]

Université d'Ottawa


Substitute Vice-President:
Daniel J. Weeks[email protected]
University of Northern British Columbia



Dominican Republic

Regional Vice-President:

Miguel Fiallo Calderón, [email protected]

President, Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña


Executive Regional Secretary:

José Rafael Espaillat, [email protected]

Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña


Substitute Vice-President:


Isabel Dubuisson Dorsainvil, [email protected]

President, Université Queensland



  • Antilles

Eustase Janky, [email protected]

Université des Antilles

  • Cuba

Diana Sedal Yánes[email protected]

President Universidad de Oriente

  • Guyana

Ivelaw Griffith, [email protected]

Vice-Chancellor, University of Guyana

  • Puerto Rico


President, Caribbean University

  • Venezuela

Dr. Enrique Planchart[email protected]

President, Universidad Simón Bolívar

  • Jamaica

Sir Hilary Beckles, [email protected]

President, Asociación de Universidades e Institutos de Investigación del Caribe – UNICA

  • Bahamas

Rodney D. Smith, [email protected]

Reitor, University of The Bahamas


Regional Vice-President:

German Anzola Montero[email protected]

President, Universidad de Ciencias Aplicadas y Ambientales

Executive Regional Secretary:

Ximena Cardoso, [email protected]

Universidad de Ciencias Aplicadas y Ambientales

 Substitute Vice-President:

Maritza Rondón Rangel, [email protected]

President, Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia




Regional Vice-President:

Hector Floriani, [email protected]

President, Universidad de Rosario

Executive Regional Secretary: 

Substitute Vice-President:

María Delfina Veiravé, [email protected]

President, Universidad Nacional del Nordeste, Argentina



  • Argentina
  • Paraguay
  • Uruguay *


* The IOHE has only one member in these countries.


Regional Vice-Presdient:

Federico Zaragoza, [email protected]

Alamo Colleges

Carol Fimmen, [email protected]

Alamo Colleges


Regional Vice-President:
Miguel Angel Navarro Navarro, [email protected]
President, Universidad de Guadalajara

Executive Regional Secretary:

Carlos Ivan Moreno, [email protected]

Universidad de Guadalajara


Substitute Vice-President:
Sara Ladrón de Guevara Gonzalez[email protected]

President, Universidad Veracruzana


  • José Alfonso Esparza Ortiz, [email protected]
    President, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla
  • Rogelio Guillermo Garza Rivera[email protected]
    President, Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León
  • David Garza Salazar, [email protected]
    President, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Sup. Monterrey




Regional Vice-President:

Mauro Toscanini Segale[email protected]

President, Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil


Executive Regional Secretary:

Maria Veronica Peña, [email protected] 

Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil 

Substitute Vice-President

Lauren Muller de Pacheco, [email protected]

President, Universidad Privada de Santa Cruz



Marcial Rubio Correa, [email protected]

President, PUC del Perú



Executive Director:

Miguel Escala[email protected]


Centro IGLU Brasil

Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina
Florianopolis, Brazil
ContactPedro Antônio De Melo
[email protected]
Telephone:  (48) 3721-6646

Centro IGLU Amérique centrale

Universidad de Costa Rica
San José, Costa Rica
Contact:  Guiselle María Garbanzo Vargas
gmgar[email protected]

Centro IGLU Caribe

Universidad Simón Bolívar
Caracas, Venezuela
Contact: María Ana Ameiro
[email protected]
Telephone: 58-212-9063033; 58-212- 9063045

Centro IGLU Cono Sur

Universidad Nacional de La Matanza
Buenos Aires, Argentina
ContactJorge Luis Narváez
[email protected]
Telephone: 54-11 4480 8941

Centro IGLU Colombia

Universidad del Rosario
Bogota, Colombia
ContactClara García
[email protected]
Telephone: 57 (1) 2970200 ext. 7718

Centro IGLU México

Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León
Nuevo León, Mexico
Contact: Karina Esquivel
[email protected] 
Telephone: 00 52 473 732 1205

Centro IGLU Países Andinos

Universidad de los Lagos
Osorno, Chile
Contact: Débora Gálvez
[email protected] 
Telephone: 51-54- 959757979


Executive Director:

Fernando Daniels[email protected]


Executive Director:

Rosa Montes, [email protected]


Executive Director:

Jimena Sánchez, [email protected]